The Bowditch Award

Lieutenant Governor Karyn Polito and the Biomanufacturing Task Force


Shortly after her swearing in as Lieutenant Governor, Karyn Polito began working with Worcester officials to create a Task Force to pursue the establishment of a Biomanufacturing Park under the new Baker-Polito Adminsitration’s Open for Business Program.  The work involved turning an underutilized state asset into a productive development project.  There were many moving pieces to this project which involved Federal, State and local issues, complicated historic title restrictions, legislative action, tenant relocations, infrastructure upgrades, and the preparation of a proposal to designate a developer.  The Task Force met regularly and quickly identified that there was unanimous consensus that the development of a Biomanufacturing Park would be the top priority for converting this vacant parcel.


Over the next 24 months, the Task Force prepared a proposal, a developer was designated, legislation was filed and passed, and the land was transferred to the WBDC as the Park developer.  This incredible effort will put the final piece in place for our successful Life Sciences Cluster in Worcester that includes the University of Massachusetts medical Center, the UMass Science Park, formerly known as the Massachusetts Biotechnology Park, and now the Worcester Biomanufacturing Park.  For this incredible effort for the future of the Worcester area, the WBDC is pleased and honored to present the 2018 Robert S. Bowditch Economic Development Award to Lieutenant Governor Karyn Polito, Chair and the Worcester Biomanufacturing Task Force.


Past Bowditch Award Recipients include:

2017 – Leo Xarras, Mark Stebbins, XSS Hotels
2016 – QCC, Gail E. Carberry

2015 – Congressman James P. McGovern

2014 – Michael V. O’Brien

2013 – Unum Group

2012 – David P. Forsberg

2011 – Timothy P. Murray

2010 – Charles & Janet Birbara

2009 – Mary C. DeFeudis, Frederick H. Eppinger

2008 – WPI, Dennis Berkey

2007 – Robb & Madeleine Ahlquist

2006 – Charles F. Monahan Jr.

2005 – John M. Nelson

2004 – Abbott Bioresearch Center, Dr. Alajandro A. Aruffo

2003 – John LaPoint, Sheila Ide

2002 – The Crowley Family

2001 – Robert E. Maher Jr., Joseph A. Podbielski MD, Alan M. Stoll

2000 – William J. Short

1999 – John D. Hunt